Looking after the wellbeing of our students is an important part of our role as educators.

To be effective in the classroom, we need students to be ready to learn when they arrive. That starts with making sure their basic needs are being met, at home and at school.

We also understand that parents and the wider community will look to us for support, so rest assured we are here to help. If you have concerns about your child, or your family needs support, contact the academy in confidence.

Key contacts

For general day-to-day enquiries, you should speak to your child’s tutor first. Please note that emails are only regularly checked during term-time and should not be used in emergency.

Year group/roleNameEmail addressPhone
Head of year 7Mr N Mosleynmosley@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 523
Head of year 8Mr G Holmesgholmes@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 521
Head of year 9Mr R Macphersonrmacpherson@tuxford-ac.org.uk 01777 870001 Ext: 521
Head of year 10Mr S Thompson sthompson@tuxford-ac.org.uk 01777 870001 Ext: 526
Head of year 11Miss S Pallantspallant@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 526
Head of post-16Miss L Murphylmurphy@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 579
Head of year 12Mr T Atherton tatherton@tuxford-ac.org.uk 01777 870001 Ext: 579
Head of year 13Mr C Wray cwray@tuxford-ac.org.uk 01777 870001 Ext: 579
Designated safeguarding leadMrs K Nichol knichol@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 535
Deputy designated safeguarding leadMr S Mayfieldsmayfield@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 551
Safeguarding leadMiss L Ashleylashley@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 550
Student wellbeing teamMrs V Fretwellvfretwell@tuxford-ac.org.uk
Social mobilityMr C Longmore clongmore@tuxford-ac.org.uk01777 870001 Ext: 525

Further support

Food share and food banks
Tuxford Mine of Information
The Trussell Trust Food Bank (Newark)
The Trussell Trust Food Bank (Sherwood Forest)
Bassetlaw Food Bank

General support
Tuxford Mine of Information – provides free and confidential help or signposting, on debt and money, benefits, employment, housing, law and rights, relationships, health and wellbeing and many more issues. They also offer a community transport scheme, which aims to provide transport for anyone who cannot access public or other forms of transport.
Bassetlaw Health – parent support

Domestic violence and abuse
Bassetlaw District Council domestic violence and abuse information
Respect Men’s Advice Line
Rape Crisis
Refuge – for women and children (phone 0808 2000 247)

Hate crime
Galop
True Vision Report It – organisations that can help

Health and wellbeing
LGBT+ Service Nottinghamshire
ShawMind
Mind (Nottinghamshire)