Students will now receive a mixture of grades and numbers, with 9 being the highest. See the table below for a guide to the new GCSE grading structure.

There will be fewer ‘bite-sized’ questions and more essay-style questions in the reformed GCSEs.Coursework and controlled assessment has disappeared from most subjects; resulting in more, longer exams.

New grading structure Previous grading structure
9 A*
8 A*
7 A
6 B
5 (strong pass) C
4 (standard pass) D
3 E
2 F
1 G


In this section